Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Comotion vs. Long Haul Trucker

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-06, 08:17 PM

Bikes: Ridley X-Fire, Surly Big Dummy, Primus Mootry Cross

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

So I'm new at this, but is the comotion worth the price difference from the Long Haul Trucker? The reason I ask is I always tend to up grade after a year or two. Should I just get the Comotion and be done with it or get the LHT? Most I'll probably do is week long tours for now. Is the comotion "over the top" for this?
Old 09-17-06, 09:03 PM

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well, what other bikes do you ride? I'm the type of guy who rides 20 year old MTBs and thinks they work fine, so for me personally-- a new Surly would be a dream bike.

Other folks, (the ones with more $$$) go for the higher end stuff.

It's all just personal choice.

I say try strapping your camping gear to a bike your currently own and hit the road. That will teach you what you personally want in your touring bike.
Old 09-17-06, 09:07 PM

Bikes: Litespeed Ultimate 2006, Litespeed Pisgah , Specialized Roubaix 2008, Trek Madone 2011

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Co-Motion is a custom frame and will last a life time. No need to upgrade that bike.
Old 09-17-06, 09:22 PM
Banned

Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
These are heavy duty bikes. I don't think it maters how long your are touring once you get to the week or more level, assuming you are loaded touring. Like if you are 500 miles from home and a long weekend from an open repair shop, and your wheel collapses, that's pretty inconvenient. On the other hand neither of these is the definition of a day tripping bike.