Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Winter Cycling
Reload this Page >

waterproof/resistant pants you can wear all day?

Search
Notices
Winter Cycling Don't let snow and ice discourage you this winter. The key element to year-round cycling is proper attire! Check out this winter cycling forum to chat with other ice bike fanatics.

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-06, 10:41 PM
i am batman

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

hey, i'm wondering if any of you have any suggestions for waterproof (or at the very least better in bad weather) pants that can be worn all day. i'm a student so i don't really have ample time to change before class, and it's not really practical either way. i remember seeing some goretex army pants somewhere but i can't find them now. otherwise i figure i will just wear tights with dickies work pants since they tend to dry faster.

in the summer it's not that big of a deal but in the winter i don't think it would be very comfortable. last winter i managed to luck out but i am not counting on that this year.
Old 09-29-06, 11:54 PM
Reticient Recluse

Bikes: Trek Soho

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Perhaps I'm missing something, but why would you not be able to wear waterproof pants all day? There are any number of waterproof pants on the market and I don't think any of them are as uncomfortable as your alternative sounds.

For what it's worth, my waterproof pants are Marmot Precip pants, and I'm fine wearing them all day. I also have a pair of Patagonia Super Guide water resistant climbing pants that I wear when it's colder. These are so comfy I don't even feel like changing out of them at night.
Old 09-30-06, 01:32 AM

Bikes: Jamis Coda Sport '06

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Why not wear regular pants, then throw something light over them? I like the REI Ultra Light Pants although you could also consider the Showers Pass Rain Pants.
Old 09-30-06, 05:14 AM

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts