Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Triathlon
Reload this Page >

Monumental hesitation

Search
Notices
Triathlon Swim / Bike / Run your thing? Drop in our new triathlon forum for the latest in training & gear. From beginner to expert, and sprint to ironman.

Monumental hesitation

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-06, 04:22 PM
Banned

Bikes: 50 pounds horrible bikes

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Monumental hesitation

Hi guys,

I've been riding my 2004 bike for about 7 months now (Bought it used).

Note: I've been doing many sports before road cycling and I have very strong legs and a good potential to use good bike parts at their maximum. I clearly see a difference when I ride a full carbon bike and I climb a hill, The frame is a lot stiffer and more resistant to deformations and my energy is transfered greater in mouvement than heat from frame torsion.

So the point is,
My bike has:
a carbon fork
complete carbon rear triangle
105 Brake levelers
dura-ace brake calipers
dura-ace front derailler
105 rear derailler
105 clipless pedals
dura-ace 9 speed chain on 105 cassete
truvativ elita crankset which I'm planning to chance cauz it's on 39/25, yeah 39.... I didn't believe it too at first sight.

The problem: the wheels are WH-5500 (shimano 105 wheels): They're good for training but they have sucky performance : heavy, they ain't stiff enough, they touch my brakes each time I climb a hill.

My current dilemma:

Buy a Cervelo Dual 2006 brand new at my LBS for about 3000$CAD all included (I'm doing a lot of duathlons and triathlons (every weeks) but I'm ALSO a climber who do long-time rides and 100 kms+ races and who plans to do criteriums next cycling year.

OR