Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

Help please for Raleigh 20 refurb?

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-06, 11:24 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi, I just won a raleigh 20 on ebay for about $150 with shipping. The Seller says its a single speed with the wheels changed mag wheels in good condition. I'd like to do the 20% of the work that improves it by 80%. I bid on mint condition ones, but I'm an ebay novice so lost by a couple of $s.

My budget is $200-300. I'm thinking of 1) changing tires to big apples. 2) Add a brooks saddle and 3) add gearing & brakes (looks like coaster brake now). I think 1 & 2 are easy enough. But will the BA's fit on the magwheels? The item number is 180059435670 in on ebay case anyone wants to look. 4) If I change the handlebars, does that mean I need to change the headset also? Should I bother?

Ok for #3, I would really appreciate if someone could link exactly which parts to buy (gears, brakes, cables, etc) from a US vendor, and tell me what I need to do. If i add gears, does that mean I need a new wheel or I can rebuild the old wheel or whatever? Please take into consideration that I am almost useless from a mechanical perspective. I plan to order the parts and have someone implement what you guys tell me.

Changing the bb looks kinda hard from what I've read, but if there is an easy way, it's within my budget and someone can link the part....

The bike will be for my kids, but I'll use it also. In the meantime, my wife and I are quite happy with the two Brompton m3's.

Thanks!
Old 12-11-06, 01:05 AM
jur

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 321 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 6 Posts