Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Any 50+ Beginner MTB Racers?

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-07, 09:44 PM
just keep riding

Bikes: 2018 Black Mountain Cycles MCD,2017 Advocate Cycles Seldom Seen Drop Bar, 2017 Niner Jet 9 Alloy, 2015 Zukas custom road, 2003 KHS Milano Tandem, 1986 Nishiki Cadence rigid MTB, 1980ish Fuji S-12S

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked 33 Times in 22 Posts

Although I consider myself mostly a roadie, I have been riding mountain bikes off and on since 1990 when I got the first new bicycle of my adult life, a Giant Iguana. I have enjoyed riding singletrack since those days, and always tried to ride a little smoother and faster, but never gave much thought to racing. MTB riding was mostly something I did to help me climb better on road rides.
In the past year I've been getting more interested in riding offroad, especially since my club helped make some great new trails at a local recreation area. I started doing more rides with some of the guys who race for the team my LBS sponsors. I can't hang with them when they really get after it, but I've been surpised at how my speed has increased. I finally broke down and bought a decent modern MTB, a 2006 Specialized Rockhopper Comp. I'm amazed at how well a decent fork can make a bike handle.

Anyway, I've let myself be talked into joining the team and plan to race in the Georgia State Championship Mountain Bike Racing Series. https://s161425410.onlinehome.us/2007...FLIER-main.pdf