Search
Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Aero Bars in Races???

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-07, 04:53 PM
Ride First, Work Later!!!

Bikes: Specialized Tarmac, Trek Superfly, Raleigh Rush Hour

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aero Bars in Races???

I recently did a race and it would have best been described as a circuit race I suppose. It was at Barbers Motorsports Park in B'ham, AL and they usually have the Porsche Driving Experience or motorcycle races, to best describe the track. Anyway this is my first year racing and in my Cat 5 race there were at least 3 people I saw with aero bars at the start, and one riding in them during the race as well. I had heard that this was illegal but this was a USCF sanctioned event...

So my question is, is this illegal or just something that isn't normally accepted? I talked with some of the others who were under the impression it wasn't legal but nothing was ever said to the ones with them?!
Old 05-02-07, 04:57 PM
rider of small bicycles

Bikes: Cannondale

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
It's illegal
Old 05-02-07, 04:58 PM
Chelsea FC

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I believe that you can't have any forward pointing bars (Aero and those "cow horn" bars).
Old 05-02-07, 05:00 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Any reasons they wouldn't have called these guys out on them then? Like I said I saw one of them in the aeros passing the start/finish line once in front of everyone. They did have a metric century that morning that finished on the track as well but that was well before the racing began. Luckily there was no one injured due to them...
Old 05-02-07, 09:02 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts