Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Electric bicycle alarms

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Electric bicycle alarms

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-07, 05:34 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electric bicycle alarms

Does anyone use them? What are opinions of the benefits of them (great or little)? Are the ones on the market crap?
Old 05-09-07, 05:49 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I've no experience,seems to make sense if the bikes locked-up in a common area,like a bike rack or busy spot.Thieves hate attention AND you could hear it if you were outside a store.
Old 05-09-07, 07:56 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by old and new
I've no experience,seems to make sense if the bikes locked-up in a common area,like a bike rack or busy spot.Thieves hate attention AND you could hear it if you were outside a store.
Yeah thats what I was thinking. Like in addition to a Ulock
Old 05-09-07, 09:12 PM
tsl
Plays in traffic

Bikes: 1996 Litespeed Classic, 2006 Trek Portland, 2013 Ribble Winter/Audax, 2016 Giant Talon 4

Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Originally Posted by old and new
Thieves hate attention AND you could hear it if you were outside a store.
When was the last time you saw anyone pay any sort of attention to a car alarm? Why would they behave differently for a bike alarm? (Other than to smirk or cuss at the thing.)

And that's all we need. Bike alarms going off in the middle of the night along with the car alarms.
Old 05-10-07, 08:11 AM

Bikes: 1990 Burley Bossa Nova, 1992 Paramount PDG-70, 1993 Specialized Stumpjumper, 2005 Jamis Dakar XC Pro, 2007 Rivendell Bleriot