Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

I'm just getting into single speeds and fixies

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-03, 05:39 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I just got a 80's schwinn 10 speed that I would like to convert into a single speed. I would like to know if anybody has ever made a single speed bike by shortening the chain to justify the gear ratio desired. In other words, used the rear wheel with the stock multi gear set up as though it was a single speed? If it is possible why don't more people make single speeds this way? Other then the obvious weight loss.
Old 06-17-03, 07:14 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
um, why not just change to whatever gear you want and then never shift gears again? you effectively have a single speed if you never shift gears.
that's essentially what you're describing. if you remove the derailers you have to make sure that your chainline is dead-on straight, so the chain won't fall off. and this setup has several drawbacks, like you won't be able to replace your cog with a bigger/smaller one, you have several unused sprockets, you might not be able to get a straight chainline without adding/removing spacers/redishing the rear wheel, etc. IMHO, just get a new hub and cog.
Old 06-17-03, 07:59 PM
KISSSSSSS MEEEE!! GNARR!

Bikes: Custom Frame, 36s Paul Comp hubs w/ TSB by Marcus@Yojimbos, Campy Headset, Selle It. Gelflow / Campy Seatpost, Nitto stem, Sugoi 75 165 Cranks w/ crap BB, 3/16" chain, Yellow Techno 21s.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts