Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Front Hub Bolt Size - 1970's Schwinn Suburban

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-07, 03:39 PM
@ Checkmate Cycling

Bikes: CAAD 8 - Ultegra

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey guys. I'm just looking to verify before I run out to buy a wrench at Harbor Freight. Can anyone tell me what size the bolts holding my front hub on are? I just got a flat and need to take my wheel off.

I'm a mechanic and I left my tools at my shop today (so that I could start riding my bike in). I have no problem running out to get a cheap wrench. I'm thinking since its a 70's Schwinn we are probably talking SAE sizing and not metric... It looks and feels to me to be a 1/2" or maybe 9/16", or maybe even 7/16". I really don't know for sure and I keep second guessing my self. I'm sure I'll figure it out, but if one of you knows off-hand that would be great.

PS: I hate adjustable wrenches with a passion so please don't go there. Something about working on 60 year old Jeeps that have been sitting in some farmer's field. Rounding off "F" script bolts on a Ford GP because I'm using an adjustable wrench is not an option.
Old 06-03-07, 03:44 PM

Bikes: '96 Litespeed Catalyst, '05 Litespeed Firenze, '06 Litespeed Tuscany, '20 Surly Midnight Special, All are 3x10. It is hilly around here!

Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Quoted: 2026 Post(s)
Liked 1,096 Times in 742 Posts
The most common size for nutted hubs was 15 mm. If your Schwinn s SAE and 9/16", a 14 mm is a close match.

You say you're a mechanic. Don't you have even a set of wrenches around? Why would you even consider the quality of tools Harbor Freight sells?
Old 06-03-07, 05:39 PM
@ Checkmate Cycling