Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Road bike vs. Cycle Cross

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-07, 08:25 AM

Bikes: Trek Pilot 1.0

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Road bike vs. Cycle Cross

I'm pretty new to this and don't really know as much as I'd like. I'm currently riding my trek navigator 300 20 miles plus and I'm researching an upgrade. The LBS was telling me how a CC bike was built a little stronger than a road bike and might hold up better under my weight.(325) Plus they usually don't come with slicks but can be added. I'd be riding paved trails and road, but there is always a lot of debris, usually gravel and stick and stuff(plus I occasionally ride on gravel roads) so I don't want to run a slick. Is there any truth to this? Would a road bike be more comfy than a cc? I was drooling over the cannondale cycle cross that they had there.
Old 06-27-07, 08:37 AM
On my TARDIScycle!

Bikes: Trek 520, Trek Navigator 300, Peugeot Versailles PE10DE

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm not positive, but I think a CC has a more relaxed geometry which would make it more comfortable.

If you want to get a road style, you may also want to look at touring bikes. I was in your exact shoes about 1 1/2 years ago (on MY Nav 300) and ended up going with a Trek 520 touring bike.
Old 06-27-07, 09:00 AM
AKA Nathan

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You could look into a steel road frame like the Surly Cross Check. Build it up with a solid set of wheels & high quality BB/Crankset, and you shouldn't have any problems.

-DR
Old 06-27-07, 09:11 AM