Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Mounting a New Tire

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Mounting a New Tire

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-03, 07:40 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mounting a New Tire

Please forgive my ignorance on the following subject, but I am just getting started into a cycling life.

I tried to mount some new tires on a road bike rim last night and had all kinds of problems. I got the tire sized at a shop, and they assured me it was correct.

My question is, do you have to really stretch new tires when installing, I have changed hundreds of flats, but never a new installation.

I would really appreciate your patience and your help in solving my dilemma without having to have the shop do it.

Thanks,
Old 07-17-03, 08:51 AM
Life is good

Bikes: 2018 Lynskey Helix Pro

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Are the new tires the same size as the old tires?
Does the tire have a wire or kevlar bead?
Were you using tire levers or your bare hands?

I am a cyclist. I am not the fastest or the fittest. But I will get to where I'm going with a smile on my face.
Old 07-17-03, 10:07 AM
Just ride.

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
It's not unusual. Rims vary in height. Tires vary in bead circumference. Tight tires are easy enough to get on with tools, but they're a nuisance, mainly because it's easy to pinch (and puncture) the tube installing them.
Old 07-17-03, 05:10 PM
Up there!

Bikes: Specialized Sequoia x 2

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you'd like some advice for fitting a new t(y)(i)re there's some great advice at:

https://www.bicyclinglife.com/HowTo/FixAFlat.htm