Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Sudden onset of knee pain - what to do?

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-07, 10:59 PM

Bikes: 2020 Pinarello Dogma F12 Disc (Enve SES 3.4), 2021 S-Works Aethos (Roval Alpinist CLX II), 2024 Topstone Lab71 (Terra CLX II), 2006 Cervelo Soloist (10 speed Ultegra), 2021 S-Works Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked 74 Times in 34 Posts

I've been doing mountain riding for the last three years exclusively, riding with my Sidis and SPDs. I've never had a problem with knee pain.

Recently, I bought a road bike and took a couple of really long, excruciating rides. I think I probably overdid things for those couple of rides, because I started to develop some knee pain on the front inside of my knee (on the inside front of my kneecap, extending down below the kneecap). My new bike has SPDs and I'm using the same shoes, so I'm wondering what causes the pain. Is it because I went too far without being in the proper shape (my legs and knees aren't very strong at the moment)? Something about the new bike? I'm riding a compact double and a pretty 12-25 cassette in the back. Seat height gets almost full extension on my legs.

Anyone with experience with this kind of knee pain feel free to chime in? Should I stay off it for a while? Take some yoga and do strengthening exercises? Go to a sports doc?

Never had knee pain before and I'm paranoid it's gonna put a damper on my cycling, especially with the excitement over my new bike. So I'm at a loss about what to do to correct the problem.
Old 08-01-07, 11:21 PM

Bikes: Scapin EOS7 sloping, 10v Record, Ksyriums

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
doctor
Old 08-02-07, 03:51 AM

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post