Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Folding Bikes
Reload this Page >

A few questions

Search
Notices
Folding Bikes Discuss the unique features and issues of folding bikes. Also a great place to learn what folding bike will work best for your needs.

A few questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-07, 09:44 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A few questions

I'm completely new to the world of folding bikes. Before doing a bit of research, I had always thought of them as something of a novelty item, not a bike you could do serious riding on. Obviously, I was wrong. How feasible is a folding bike for long distance and/or hilly riding? I was thinking of getting a hybrid type bike, but a good folding bike seems to come at a slightly lower cost. Can you do decent speeds? Can you go up a reasonably steep incline without toppling over sideways from lack of speed? What about distance, are fifteen mile rides doable?

I've got a budget of up to 500 for a new bike, if anyone can recommend a folding bike in that range (or cheaper!) that could replace a road/hybrid type bike, I'd be mighty interested.
Old 08-03-07, 10:05 PM
Part-time epistemologist

Bikes: Jamis Nova, Bike Friday triplet, Bike Friday NWT, STRIDA, Austro Daimler Vent Noir, Hollands Tourer

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
For the same quality bike, a regular sized bike will be less expensive.

The short answer to your questions is that they are more than capable hybrid bikes. So they can climb, they can go fast, and so on. For example, if you read through the forum, you will find more than a handful of people that finished centuries on their folding bikes.

The best thing for you to do is test ride a few bikes. Where are you writing from?

Regarding brands, you will be looking at a Dahon or Downtube.
Old 08-03-07, 11:38 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts