Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

What's a good time for a 20-30 mile run?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-07, 10:04 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hey everybody, I'm new to this forum, and I'm pretty new to biking. Got into it last fall. I used to go everywhere on my bike as a kid and after about a ten year absence I've returned. I'm 19 and a student at UT-Knoxville, and I love riding the greenways around campus. Being a Nashville native, Knoxville has a lot more trails, and most of them interconnect. I'd like to get pretty active on riding to be able to participate in local runs and be able to run with the pack. The only thing is that I don't really know what a good running time is for a 20 or 30 mile ride. My primary goal right now is to be able to get 30 miles inside of 2 hours, but I don't know how this ranks with everything else. What time should I aim for after I hit this mark?

Thanks,
Alex
Old 08-13-07, 06:43 AM

Bikes: "Hildy", a Novara Randonee touring bike; a 16-speed Bike Friday Tikit; and a Specialized Stumpjumper frame-based built-up MTB, now serving as the kid-carrier, grocery-getter.

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Depends on your bike. I do my 18 mile commute in around 1h40m on a mountain bike with knobby tires.

My bands:
Old 08-13-07, 08:22 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
It also depends on your terrain, weather, and fitness level.
The only valid comparison is between someone else riding on the same route at the same time.
However, tracking your own progress is the best option.