Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Advocacy & Safety
Reload this Page >

Fourteen year old who does not know how to ride a bike.

Search
Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-07, 01:21 PM

Bikes: Trek Mountaineer modified with a NuVinci; Montegue Paratrooper folding mountain bike; Greenspeed recumbent; Surly Big Dummy with Stokemonkey

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts

How would you go about teaching a young man such as this? Most of the material I can find about teaching absolute beginners assumes that one is dealing with a little kid.
Old 08-20-07, 01:25 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
I can't imagine teaching an adult, young adult, or little kid to be any different...?

Just don't say things like, "Oh, did you get a boo-boo?" when they fall over.
Old 08-20-07, 01:54 PM
Curmudgeon

Bikes: (see https://wildavis.smugmug.com/Bikes) Bianchi Veloce (2005), Nishiki Cascade (1992), Schwinn Super Sport (1983)

Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The same way as I'd teach anyone to ride a bike. So many beginners are intimidated by having to deal with the two parts of the problem simultaneously, so the obvious answer is to divide the problem into two separate parts: (1) balance, (2) propulsion, and deal with each part in turn.

(1) Remove the cranks and chain (or even just the pedals) from the bike, and lower the saddle so that the learner can touch the ground with their feet, whilst seated on the bike. This will enable them to scoot the bike around, and get used to balancing and steering.

(2) Once they've got the idea of balancing and steering, the cranks and chain are replaced, and the beginner learns to pedal while balancing and steering.

Eventually the saddle is raised to the correct height.