Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Computer problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-03, 07:07 PM
Da Big Kahuna

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Computer problem

I have a Cateye Astrale bike computer which I've been pretty happy with. However, a couple weeks ago, it got rained on and, unless its coincidence, I think that might have caused some problems.

When I started riding it after the rain, it stopped registering speed, etc. I suspected the sensor had gotten out of position (both the cadence and speed went out so that is two different sensors). It still didn't work. That's when I suspected the water problem, though I've occasionally gotten caught in light rain before without problems.

I removed the module and wiped everything as best I could. Eventually it started working again. However, even since then I can't be sure it won't lapse again. Often it will do so for a few seconds. Other times it will be longer - generally just pulling the module off and them putting it back on gets it going again. But this problem makes it impossible to do accurate measurements.

Any ideas on how this can be made to work more reliably? If not, any recommendations of what to get which would allow input of old odometer info (I don't think the Astrale allows you to do this for some reason)? I have to have the usual speed, distance, odometer, max, avg, plus cadence. I have considered getting one that includes a heart monitor so feel free to make recommendations on that too.

Bob
Old 08-15-03, 07:30 PM
Every lane is a bike lane

Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia - passionfruit capital of the universe!
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts