Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Biomedical Engineering and Cycling applications

Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Old 01-27-08, 12:05 AM

Bikes: 1998 Specialized Hardrock Classic, 1999 Gary Fisher Marlin, Surly Karate Monkey

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi everyone, I've posted frequently in other forums here, but now I'm looking to start working on some lifetime projects. So, I'm gonna give a little bit of background on myself first.
I'm a biomedical engineer, and although I no longer work as a professional in engineering (no thanks to the market in the US), by no means have I abandoned my chosen field of study. Back in 1996, I did my senior thesis on muscular signal collection and analysis, and constructed an artificial electromechanical arm for a NASA related project. I was going over my old notes and data, and it dawned on me that so far as I can tell, I have yet to see a study based on maximum muscle contraction, data collection, and analysis in ALL the cycling positions and geometries. Does anyone know where I can locate information on this, if it exists? Also, when I worked as a bicycle mechanic, there was an old technical journal, I believed it was called bicycling science and technology, which I think was a quarterly journal on all the scientific, engineering, and technical applications of bicycling. It's no longer published.