Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Help with Bike Dilemma

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-08, 08:53 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help with Bike Dilemma

I am pretty new to cycling and got my first bike in February. I refused to listen to the salesperson and bought a hybrid (Trek 7.2fx wsd) instead of a road bike. In the past month, I've done a lot of riding and really love the bike, however I want to start doing longer rides. I'm signed up to do a 33 mile charity ride at the end of the month and would like to do a century before the end of the summer. Here's my problem...should I go ahead and admit that I was wrong and buy a road bike (I've looked at the Trek 1.2 and 2.1 wsd) or will I be able to do what I want to do with the hybrid that I have? Does anyone else do long distance rides with Hybrids? Thanks!
Old 04-06-08, 08:57 PM

Bikes: Litespeed Ultimate 2006, Litespeed Pisgah , Specialized Roubaix 2008, Trek Madone 2011

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does anyone else do long distance rides with Hybrids? Thanks![/QUOTE]

I started out on a Hybrid and I found that 30-35 miles was about it and then my shoulders and neck started to ache. I bought a Trek 520 and used it as a road bike and I've never had sore body parts since.
Old 04-06-08, 11:39 PM

Bikes: 1997 Trek 520

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
35 miles should be fine on a hybrid as long as it fits you. I've done longer then that with a mountain bike on forest service roads. I think you should keep riding what you've got until you hit a wall with it, or unless you've just got extra money to spend on a new toy.
Old 04-07-08, 04:01 AM