Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Help with 2k+ mile trip

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-08, 10:45 PM
A biker with an ardor

Bikes: Actually, none at the moment. lol

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Help with 2k+ mile trip

In approximately a year or so, I should be taking off on a 2k+ mile trip to Southern California from Northeastern Alabama. The date is still in the works. The trip is somewhere around 2,050 miles. I'm new to biking. I used to ride my bike to school in middle school almost 8 yrs ago, but I somehow don't think that counts. I'll be getting a bike within the next month or so and will most likely compete in a triathlon sometime in July. I need help on what bike I should choose and whether or not I should get a trailer. Also, how I should prepare. I'm a fairly athletic guy. I can run a mile in 5:34 and I'm a college cheerleader. I'll be riding this bike around the college campus to classes and most likely to work. That will help to prepare me and save on gas. Any help is truly appreciated.
Old 04-27-08, 10:57 PM

Bikes: Custom Zona c/f tandem + Scott Plasma single

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked 19 Times in 11 Posts
A year or so . . . is a long time away. Plans/circumstances change.
Start riding regularly. Increase your distances, increase your speed. Start carrying stuff on the bike (panniers with encyclopedias are a great way to practice!).
Practice riding hills with a load. You will encounter heat/cold/wind/rain/bugs/cars/trucks and mountains.
If you're still hung-ho after all of that, you'll do just fine!
Old 04-27-08, 11:24 PM