Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

Back in the game...Manhattan

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-08, 01:46 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I used to be into biking when I was a kid but that was BMX. Now seeing as i'm 27 and living in Manhattan I figured I should take up something a little more mature. Now seeing as i'm just starting out I decided to take the budget route when buying my bike and gear. I bought the Windsor Wellington 3.0. Got the Ascent Delta V computer and the Top Peak Micro Rocket ALT pump.

For the most part, I had no problems putting the bike together. Probably took me a little longer than the LBS but I don't have $50 to throw at a tune up.Looking online it doesn't look to difficult. The only problem I had was that I tore the seal around the stem of the tube when pumping it up. The little pump I bought is great for riding, its compact, its light but you'll be pumping all day if you try to pump the tires up to 120psi...

Oh yeah, the computer I bought liked to go a little crazy (Speed w/o even being set up 80mph) so I put a little aluminum foil between it and the clasp and it seemed to solve everything. Never went crazy again...

I'm hopefully going to join some riding groups around the area but I think I need to build some stamina first. I didn't pass to many people on my ride...they passed me.

My first ride (Central Park Loop):

Minutes: 41:53
Miles: 8.968
Max Speed: 27.1
Average Speed: 12.9

My Bike:

Old 07-17-08, 02:19 PM

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts