Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Newbie looking for a touring bike

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-08, 11:50 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am just getting into cyclying and I really love it. I ride 20-30 miles 3-4 times per week and I trying to build up to my first century. I bought a hybrid and really like it, but now I wish I had bought a touing bike. What should I look for to meet these conditions:
1) Lots of hills (Mammoth Cave National Park).
2) Clydesdale at 250ish 5' 11" (I just lost 110.1 lbs WHO HOO).
3) Single income (teacher salary) family of four (two toddlers) i.e. not a lot of money to spend.
4) I know nothing about building a bike.

What should I look for? Is building a bike something I should look into? I really like the LHT from what I have read, but alas a complete one is way out of my price range right now. I appreciate any help out there.
Old 08-29-08, 12:24 PM
cyclopath

Bikes: Surly Krampus, Surly Straggler, Pivot Mach 6, Bike Friday Tikit, Bike Friday Tandem, Santa Cruz Nomad

Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
If your hybrid fits you and you like it there isn't any reason you can't tour on it. Often the gearing is low enough on a hybrid and you can use a trailer rather than panniers/racks just to keep things simple plus you may find the trailer useful at home to haul stuff around. The only thing that will likely need replacing is a stronger rear wheel that can handle your weight + your cargo. If you are good at getting deals [Ebay, Craig's List, etc..] you should be able to get something that works for a reasonable amount of $$$.

If you really enjoy touring you'll be in a better position down the road to know what you want from a touring bike.