Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Rear Sora compatibility with bigger cassette

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-08, 10:23 PM

Bikes: 1997 Marina Portofino Triple

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Newbie here. I recently bought a Marin Portofino road bike. I discovered it was lacking in hill climbing ability due to the gearing (12-24 8-speed rear). So I bought a larger cassette (11-32), without realizing that the max capacity on the Sora rear derailleur was 27t. This bike uses the (sorry I don't know the correct term) shifting apparatus where you push the brake lever levers inward to shift. I searched Shimano's website to see if I could find a compatible rear derailleur that would accomodate the larger sprocket on the cassette (32t maximum), but the largest I could find for any of their road products was the same as the Sora (27t). I'm sure there's a good reason for that, but I don't know what it is.

In the MTB section of their website I did find derailleurs that would accomodate the larger sprocket sizes (like the Deore LX line), but I don't think they are compatible with the road-style shifters on my bike (I'm not sure about that though). I'm under the impression that the road-style shifters on my bike require a type of derailleur that works with them, and they are different than MTB bikes use.

I'm hoping someone with some expertise on the forum here can give me some advice/guidance as to how I can best accomplish making my bike more hill-worthy. This whole cassette / derailleur issue is confusing (and expensive).

Thanks.
Old 09-01-08, 01:45 AM
Low car diet