Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Non-racing training

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Non-racing training

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-08, 06:59 AM
But I don't like SPAM...

Bikes: 1994 Univega Alpina 5.2 MTB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Non-racing training

I'm just getting started with this. i've got a couple of really good books, Cycling Fitness and Base Building for cycling, both are very well written and easy to understand. My question is, I am not interested in racing or any type of competition, I'm interested in century's, touring and multi day events like Bike Across Kansas. Now I know that some work in Lactate Thresholds and Strength and Speed and TT and Hills are needed for a well rounded level of fitness, but should I spend as much time and effort on them as the books suggest?

Here's what I'm thinking, they state that the first level should be aerobic (endurance) for about 8-12 weeks, remember this is a beginner, followed by strength then lactate threshold. I'm thinking on working the endurance for the 12 weeks and then start mixing in a couple days of strength every week for a month then mixing in some lactate workouts.

What I'm trying to say is, yes that part of the training is needed, just not so much when considering the goals I have. Am I just suffering from a major brain fart or is this heading in the right direction?

Thanks

Old 10-07-08, 10:50 AM
sidelined

Bikes: 2005 Scattante R660, Kona Race Light SS conversion, 2007 Schwinn Fastback CX

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts