Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

New to this, am I going to destroy my bike? And other general questions...

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-09, 02:47 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Well I'm new to this whole cycling thing, so I have some general questions about the bike that I recently bought.

Last year a couple of my friends bought Trek 1000's and started getting into cycling a bit, so I recently decided to join them and pick up a bike.

So my first question is did I get a good deal on the bike? I'll list the bike and everything I received with it.

2006 Trek 1200 56cm in like new condition ( I'm about 6' tall so this should be the right size for me )
Bontrager SSR's ( as far as I know, these are upgraded wheels from the original )
Cateye Astrale 8 Computer
Blackburn Quadrant Headlight
Blackburn Mars 3.0 Taillight
Shimano PD-M520 Pedals
Nike shoes that go with the pedals ( that were conveniently my size, and are also in like new conditon )
And 2 additional Bontrager tubes

Here is a blurry cell phone pic I took of it:

I ended up getting everything for $575

I thought I got a great deal on everything, but I'd like other opinions on it...

And the other main question I have is, am I too big for this bike?

I never thought about size being a factor in a bicycle except for the frame size until I saw this section on this forum and it kind of worries me cause I'm a pretty big guy.