Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Bike weight vs. Body weight

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Old 02-06-09, 04:06 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,

I am new to bike racing and have decided to buy a new bike since my old one weighs so much. Besides being confused by the difference between a bike that weighs 16.5 lbs and 13.5 lbs I'm wondering how much my own weight effects how fast I will go. If I weigh 130lbs but could lean down to 120lbs is that like shaving 10lbs off the weight of a bike weighing 25lbs down to 15lbs? Just curious because I'd rather shave the weight off my body than pay a extra 2k for a bike that weighs 5lbs less. Is this a stupid question??

Thanks,

Laura
Old 02-06-09, 04:25 PM

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 1186 Post(s)
Liked 289 Times in 177 Posts
Originally Posted by lunam0th
If I weigh 130lbs but could lean down to 120lbs is that like shaving 10lbs off the weight of a bike weighing 25lbs down to 15lbs? Just curious because I'd rather shave the weight off my body than pay a extra 2k for a bike that weighs 5lbs less. Is this a stupid question??
Your total weight (including bike) will have the biggest impact on hills and quick accelerations. The best (and least expensive) option is to first lose any excess weight. Not only will you benefit by spending less energy getting up the hills you will also become more efficient as you won't be wasting as much effort lifting up the dead weight on your legs 90 times a minute.
Old 02-06-09, 04:50 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Lose any excess fat first, then start lightening the bike.