Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Trek, Jamis, or Specialized?

Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Old 04-01-09, 08:14 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

My son has been bitten by the mountain bike bug. I own a mountain bike but I'm not an expert on what's available in the $600 to $1200 range in mountain bikes. The dealers in his area, Lee County Florida, carry these brands, Trek, Jamis, and Specialized.

He's decided to go with a hardtail. He wants a front fork with a lockout, and he also wants disc brakes. For my part, I advised in that he is new to mountain biking to keep it simple and go with mechanic discs. Of those three brands and in that $600 to $1200 price range what bikes should he be looking at and which ones should he stay away from?
Old 04-01-09, 08:48 PM

Bikes: many

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
https://bikesdirect.com/products/moto.../fpr9_2100.jpg
Old 04-01-09, 09:22 PM

Bikes: FUJI Nevada 1.0 2009

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Look at the Specialized, ignore the Trek, and diss the Jamis.
Old 04-01-09, 10:24 PM
Pint-Sized Gnar Shredder

Bikes: '09 Jamis Komodo, '09 Mirraco Blend One, '08 Cervelo P2C, '08 Specialized Ruby Elite, '07 Yeti AS-R SL, '07 DMR Drone

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by zeo_max
And while you're at it, ignore this guy.