Go Back  Bike Forums > The Racer's Forum > "The 33"-Road Bike Racing
Reload this Page >

Tech Question - Brakes - Carbon Wheels

Search
Notices
"The 33"-Road Bike Racing We set this forum up for our members to discuss their experiences in either pro or amateur racing, whether they are the big races, or even the small backyard races. Don't forget to update all the members with your own race results.

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-09, 10:20 AM
I eat carbide.

Bikes: Lots. Van Dessel and Squid Dealer

Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1325 Post(s)
Liked 1,306 Times in 560 Posts

OMG...yes, I am asking a tech question. Not only do I not know the answer to this I actually feel like this is the best place to ask it.

OK...I have little experience with racing/riding carbon wheels. What experience I do have has been with clinchers that has aluminum braking surfaces. I bought a carbon tubular front wheel late last year for a steal off of the bay. My intention was to always use it for TT's

So...I have a TT on Saturday. I have not really ridden the wheel, but it's in great shape. The TT is not a critical event so I don't mind riding the wheel there for the first time. My big question is that I was always under the impression that I would most likely need to swap out the front pads to ones meant for carbon.

I contacted my shop/team owner who said that I did not. I could run the pads I had with no problems. Intuitively I know he's right. I figure I should remove any AL bits in the pads before doing it.

My guess is the reason you use the carbon specific pads is to gain better braking performance and better durability and heat dissapation. So by using my regular pads I can expect them to not have great performance and to have a much shorter life (?).

It's a flat TT. No descending, big braking situations, etc. I can probably just get away with using the rear brake only if I need to....