Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

New custom frame issues

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

New custom frame issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-09, 09:29 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
New custom frame issues

I recently recieved my new custom built steel frame, but have a few issues that I need some advise or opinions on. I know that I should contact the builder and I will as soon as I feel better educated about the issues. As you can see from the photos, first the brown line that is at the seat tube bottom bracket intersection is a mystery to me. I can't wipe the brown line away with my finger or a rag. Not being a frame builder, my thought is that there is not enough silver brazing material in the socket or a pin hole which results in framesaver seeping through, hence the brown color. Another photo is of the downtube,headtube intersection. As you can plainly see there is a gap. In my opinion, this is not normal for a hancrafted lugged steel frame in which I paid about 2k for. The other photo shows the powdercoat finish, or lack thereof on the lugs. Could some experienced frame builders please give me some insight on these issues so I can better speak with the builder?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
bicycle lug.jpg (88.9 KB, 357 views)
bicycle lug 2.jpg (87.8 KB, 325 views)
bicycle lug 3.jpg (87.1 KB, 316 views)
Old 05-09-09, 01:01 AM
Banned.

Bikes: Homebuilt steel

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Quoted: 2193 Post(s)
Liked 425 Times in 337 Posts