Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

bike advise

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

bike advise

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-09, 02:04 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bike advise

hi, im panning on cycling from the UK to Italy and back. My current bike is a very heavy mountain bike which probably wouldnt do the job. I am also a poor student so want a cheap bike. was wondering if it would be a good idea to buy a second hand old school touring bike off ebay e.g. https://cgi.ebay.co.uk/vintage-carlto...3%3A1|294%3A50

any advise?

thanks

Last edited by adam06; 05-12-09 at 02:44 PM.
Old 05-12-09, 02:23 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you are really a poor student, ride that very heavy mountain bike you already have. It'll do just fine--in fact, better in some situations. It'll probably take you a bit longer, but that's not a big factor.
Old 05-12-09, 02:31 PM
Recovering mentalist

Bikes: Too many

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
It may be possible to modify the MTB enough to do the job and as long as it isn't a full suspension bike, it shouldn't be too hard. I've done long tours on a modified MTB. See my touring pages for some ideas.
Old 05-12-09, 02:35 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
its full suspension and it cost me £80 new from halfords about 6 years ago... so as can guess it not a great bike. Went 70 miles on it the other day, the riding position is very uncomfortable. probs too small for me. so the mountain bike is pritty much out of the question.

Last edited by adam06; 05-12-09 at 02:41 PM.
Old 05-12-09, 02:52 PM
Recovering mentalist

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by adam06