Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Is a century REALLY that hard???

Search
Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-09, 03:57 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

So I'm a newbie (this is actually my first post). I've been riding a couple weeks now, doing about 20 miles a ride and surprisingly feeling pretty good. I'm wanting to start increasing that to get to the point where I can do a three day, hundred mile a day tour. I have my stops along the way already planned out so it's looking like I won't need to bring a tent or anything (for the first one at least).

The question is how hard will it be to get to a hundred miles a day? From what I've found on this forum is that your body will actually surprise you and do a lot more then you think you can take. Obviously I'll have all day to complete the miles, so (although I'm sure it'll be tough) am I out of my mind?

I'm thinking if I keep training I might be able to do this before winter hits. Maybe in October (that's when the schedule's looking free). Thanks for the input, this forum REALLY is something.

Jon
Old 06-30-09, 05:39 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Completing a century that is a stretch for your current condition is one thing. Getting on the bike and doing it again the next day is something else entirely.

How much training you need beforehand depends on your fitness now and how fast you can adapt. Also, your age. The older you are the longer it will take.

I'd plan a gradual approach- work up your longest ride to roughly a century (80 miles is fine). Then add in longer rides on the day after. I think interim goals are useful, so perhaps plan an organized century first.
Old 06-30-09, 06:22 PM
In Real Life