Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Coca - Cola Nutrition

Old 07-22-09, 04:26 PM
That Cyclist Over There

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Coca - Cola Nutrition

Hi, I don't know if this is the right section to post this question in, I'm new to these forums and am still learning the ropes. I'm a newbie here and to the sport of cycling itself, and I absolutely love it. I've been actively watching the Tour de France and have been seeing something that i've been wondering about. I know of all the nutritional science that goes into developing the supplements that the riders consume while in the peloton. So it kind of shocked me when i saw the team cars giving cans of coca - cola to all of the riders. Why coca - cola? I love the drink and all on it's own but never thought of it as a sports supplement, is there some benefit to cyclists (because i've never seen other athletes drink it during play) besides the caffeine and sugar it provides? Thanks so much for your help.
Old 07-22-09, 04:40 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Originally Posted by chasingcars191