Search
Notices
Professional Cycling For the Fans Follow the Tour de France,the Giro de Italia, the Spring Classics, or other professional cycling races? Here's your home...

Newbie question

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-04, 05:16 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Newbie question

okay, I am very new to this. I have known about the tour for quite a while, but this is only my first time having the privilege to view it. Now to the "stupid" question.

I am getting the idea of what the domestique's function is, but what about the rest of the team? Are there a total of 8 or 9 people on the team?

I know the team captian is wear's #1, but how does that work. Is 11 (Jan right?) the leader of the team ranked 2nd going into the tour? I have seem numbers like 152, is that team 16?

I know these are pretty basic questions, but I seem to be watching/listening to each stage enough times to "get" the jerseys and how points/times are done. I feel like a fool know undertanding the "simple" things.
Old 07-19-04, 06:00 PM

Bikes: how long have you got?

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by glenghillie
okay, I am very new to this. I have known about the tour for quite a while, but this is only my first time having the privilege to view it. Now to the "stupid" question.

I am getting the idea of what the domestique's function is, but what about the rest of the team? Are there a total of 8 or 9 people on the team?

I know the team captian is wear's #1, but how does that work. Is 11 (Jan right?) the leader of the team ranked 2nd going into the tour? I have seem numbers like 152, is that team 16?

I know these are pretty basic questions, but I seem to be watching/listening to each stage enough times to "get" the jerseys and how points/times are done. I feel like a fool know undertanding the "simple" things.
G'day,