Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-09, 12:17 PM
Generalfeldmarschall

Bikes: Red 1988 Peugeot Nice Road Bike.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Questions

I am new to serious biking and also to the forums. I have two questions that I was wondering about.

1. does the "speed" of the bike refer to the total number of gears available or does it refer to the amount of rings on the cassette?

2. I recently purchased a 1989 Peugeot that would be either a 6-speed or a 12-speed depending on the answer to the first question as it has two rings on the crank and 6 rings on the cassette. Would it be possible to outfit my bike with brifters?
Old 10-28-09, 12:21 PM
I have senior moments...

Bikes: Many

Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
It really doesn't matter what you call it, and you can add up chainrings and cogs if you want, or just the cogs...

Might want to read this article https://www.sheldonbrown.com/speeds.html regarding changing drivetrain on your pudgit.
Old 10-28-09, 12:23 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Typically, the bike itself is advertised with the total number of gears. In other words, a mountain bike with 7 rings on the cassette and 3 rings on the crank is advertised as a 21-speed.

However, in terms of component groups, they'd refer to the number of rings on the cassette and the number of rings on the crank separately. For instance, my road bike is a SRAM 10-speed Double (10 on the cassette, 2 rings on the crank) and my mountain bike is a Shimano 7-speed triple.
Old 10-28-09, 12:28 PM

Bikes: Road, Touring, BMX, Cruisers...

Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked 173 Times in 111 Posts
Originally Posted by Desert Fox v2