Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Decals or Painted on?

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Decals or Painted on?

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-09, 07:06 AM
meech151

Bikes: MEECH road & cross bike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Decals or Painted on?

I am looking for advice on what is the best way to do the decals on a frame. I am a new builder and have just been using a high quality decal on my frames however it is fairly thick as compared to frames I see in shops. When I started, I was getting the painter to clear coat over the decals and that worked well enough except for a couple of times when small bubbles appeared under them. Then i got a couple of customers who wanted the decals on top of the clear coat and that was easy enough and saves a lot of time, if they want new decals or a different color they can just peel them off, a little tougher than it sounds. I also know people paint there names on, looks good, feels smooth, how hard is it for the painter? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

On the "Show us your bikes" thread, the Sanner frame with the 2-color powder-coat, is the name powder-coated as well and how difficult is it to do that with powder, how do they tape it off? It looks sweet Sanner.
Old 11-06-09, 02:07 PM
Raptor Custom Bicycles

Bikes: Raptor Bicycles... Fully custom carbon bikes... just the way you want them!

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by meech151