Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Tube won't tuck under tire -- ???

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-10, 11:28 PM
bike2mars

Bikes: 1986 Nishiki Prestige 52cm

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

so i replaced my tubes today (700c) and it was business as usual. but, this is my first time using a tube with a presta valve. not sure if the valve is a big deal though.

but around the valve, the tube doesn't seem to tuck in underneath the tire. i re-did the tubing and it's still the same. my fingers are a bit sore from trying to play with the tube in that area, so i can't be bothered with re-doing it again tonight.

any tips, advice, criticisms? greatly appreciated!

thank you.
Old 01-19-10, 11:39 PM

Location: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA and surrounding islands.

Bikes: Cannondale R500, Motobecane Messenger

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
You have to work the valve area inside the beads gently. It may take some practice.
Old 01-19-10, 11:51 PM

Bikes: Norco (2), Miyata, Canondale, Soma, Redline

Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked 45 Times in 35 Posts
Just push the valve area in and hold it while you seat the rest of the tire.

It may well be the brand of tube you're using. I've never had an issue with the tube around the valve area.
Old 01-20-10, 12:19 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 6 Posts
I always tuck in the tube at the valve first. Try that.
Old 01-20-10, 08:11 AM
aka Phil Jungels

Bikes: 08 Specialized Crosstrail Sport, 05 Sirrus Comp

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked 86 Times in 60 Posts
Does the Presta fit your rims?
Old 01-20-10, 08:39 AM

Bikes: Jamis Coda

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post