Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

cigarettes + bicycles

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

cigarettes + bicycles

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-10, 04:12 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cigarettes + bicycles

so i have been smoking for the past 5 years or so and riding a bike for the past 3. about a month ago, due to financial constraints, i switched to hand-rolled, unfiltered cigarettes. since then i feel like riding a bike has gotten significantly harder. my lungs feel like they're going to explode when i'm mashing up those big hills.

so i'm thinking about quitting and wondering what other people's experience are. did you feel like smoking was holding you back on the bike? did you notice a difference when you quit? any quitting strategies?
Old 04-23-10, 04:15 PM

Bikes: Eddy Merckx San Remo 76, Eddy Merckx San Remo 76 - Black Silver and Red, Eddy Merckx Sallanches 64 (2); Eddy Merckx MXL;

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
quit NOW.
Old 04-23-10, 04:19 PM
I Like to Bike

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
smoking is a bad idea in the fisrt place and if you dont stop say goodbye to your physical life
Old 04-23-10, 04:22 PM
Yo!

Bikes: Panasonic NJS Keirin x2, Level Professional, Bianchi CUSS, GT Pulse

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Dude awesome thread. My good buddy smokes hand rolled cigs.

With that you get like 40-50 cigs from a bag. He smokes like 25 a day. TWENTY FIVE.