Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

How bad did I goof?

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

How bad did I goof?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-10, 06:46 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How bad did I goof?

I posted here that I am new to riding but I want to ride for exercise. I have been looking at new bikes and really do not want to spend over 1000. for something that may not work for me. I saw on here about thrift store bikes so I went I bought. I paid 30.00 and was thrilled, not sure what I bought. Tuolumne Yokota Special Tubing (Vetta seat?) One tire is flat, it needs a new seat, and a paint job and other work would certainly make it pretty. Now a quick google search tells me its a Mountain Bike, I wanted a Road Bike.

What to do? Can I use this for that? Should I spend on the fix it up, maybe let my husband use it?

Or should I just forget about it and try again?
Old 05-21-10, 07:03 PM
In Real Life

Bikes: Lots

Mentioned: 141 Post(s)
Quoted: 3203 Post(s)
Liked 596 Times in 329 Posts
You can ride for exercise on a mtn bike as well as you can on a road bicycle. You can even ride centuries and 200K brevets on a mtn bike (I've done it). If you can't distinguish a road bicycle from a mtn bike by sight, it doesn't really matter for you at this point in time. The important thing is that it fits you, and isn't going to break down every few km.

Does it fit you? If so, then fix it up and start riding.

And if you think you want a Road bicycle, go visit some bicycles shops and online shops, and find out what a Road bicycle is so you can identify one and determine if that is indeed what you really want.
Old 05-21-10, 07:12 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts