Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Pedaling won't move the tires.

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-10, 06:14 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello! I'm a super noob and I'm in need of some help. Sorry for adding another thread, but I'm having difficulty researching the issue or finding any related posts.

So now then. I've been biking off and on for almost a year. Got a nice little trail to newport beach that's 22 miles round trip and I try to do it 3 - 5 times a week. Oh, and I have a mountain bike. Specialized Hardrock from 1997. Nostalgia keeps me from moving on.

So today I'm at the end of my ride (thank god) and it feels like the chain falls off. I stop the bike to find that the chain is still on, actually, which was hella confusing, cause I go to pedal and nothing happens. Well, to be more specific, pedaling moves the chain and gear assembly, but somehow there's a disconnect between the gears and the back tire.

Is this a common issue? Should I hit the LBS? Or can I fix this in five seconds with a wrench?
Old 11-14-10, 06:25 PM

Bikes: too many bikes from 1967 10s (5x2)Frejus to a Sumitomo Ti/Chorus aluminum 10s (10x2), plus one non-susp mtn bike I use as my commuter

Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5766 Post(s)
Liked 2,538 Times in 1,404 Posts
It's probably a freehub issue. Given the age of the bike and that you live on the coast I think it's possibly caused by internal rust. In any case, given your limited skillset it calls for a visit to the LBS.