Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Chain slips off jockey wheel when backpedaling.

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-11, 03:31 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hoping someone can help out the new guy.

I have an '85 Eddy Merckx that I've been building up with Super Record. The problem I’m running into is that the chain slips off the guide pulley when spun backwards (even just a quarter turn).

When I sight down from the top it looks like the jockey wheels are not perfectly in line. My first thought was a bent hanger but that checked out to be straight. So I am wondering if there could be something bent or out of alignment with the derailleur itself?

This is my first time using technology from this vintage, and I have been told about the overshift/trim back method when using these old campy RDs. When the bike is on the stand and I am patient, I can find a perfect place on each cog that prevents this from happening. However, since I don’t seem to hear many people complaining about this topic, I'm hoping that it is more than just user error!

-Thanks

Note- The jockey wheels are Suntour sealed bearing. They have some wear, but not to a point where they would be at fault IMO. Maybe the whole problem is the result of the RD rejecting the Japanese parts!
Old 04-17-11, 05:05 PM
Bill

Bikes: Specialized Globe Sport, Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Pro

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The guide pulleys are meant to guide the chain 'onto' the proper cassette when peddling forward not guide the chain 'off' when back peddling.