Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Training up, sore knees. Just building too fast?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-11, 07:59 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Training up, sore knees. Just building too fast?

My goal is a century, which is something I've never done before. The longest I rode before a few weeks ago was ~40 miles (and I did a few of those), but then I took the winter off so I've pretty well been starting over.

I've been making regular 20 and 33 mile rides throughout the week for a month or so, and did my first 50 two weeks ago. It seemed pretty grueling then, and last night was no different. 30 felt like a walk in the park, 40 felt like some work, and the last 6-8 miles were all willpower and hurt. Total time: 3.5 hours. Today my knees are sore; not limping but close.

Where should I be going from here? Repetition of the same? Scale back? Something I'm doing wrong that I should correct?

Also: butt complains most of the ride. New seat coming in (have a cheapie on there now). But this wouldn't effect my knees so much I wouldn't think?
Old 06-14-11, 08:32 AM

Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Sore knees? Two things come to mind - bike setup and trying to push too hard a gear.