Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

New to forum and new to taking riding more seriously than fun/fitness

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-11, 10:26 PM

Bikes: 56" Trek 1500SLR, currently paying off a 58" 2010 TREK Madone 5.5

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello all, my name is Neeley and I'm fairly new to the forum. Ive been riding road and mtn bikes recreationally for about 5 years now and have decided that my interests have sparked me to take road more seriously. Rode BMX for most of my life (32yo) and while that makes me not new to bikes, I'm not going to pretend that knowledge will transfer to serious road riding.

For the last 5 years I have been riding a mostly stock Trek 1500 SL-R in 56". I say "mostly stock" because all I have upgraded is a wider set of bars and a slightly longer set of cranks that I got on a closeout deal at my LBC and since I do a decent amount of climbing. I thought they would help a little, they did.

As far as an updated ride, my LBC had a 58" 2010 Trek Madone 5.5 H2 on closeout for $800+ below MSRP so I decided to go ahead and jump on it. It felt noticeably more comfortable under me, not sure if its the extra 2" or the fact that the geometry is more comfortable for me. Regardless, it felt noticeably better.