Go Back  Bike Forums > Community Connections > Introductions
Reload this Page >

Hello from Essex, UK :)

Search
Notices
Introductions Welcome to the BikeForums community! Please introduce yourself to other forum members here.

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-11, 08:37 AM
Noob

Bikes: Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 2009, Ridgeback Nemesis (Afine 8) 2011

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hello! I'm Mike. Just joined here because I've been looking for a busy forum to pass some time when I'm feeling bikey (mostly summer).

I've been maintaining my own bikes for a few years and have built up a semi-decent toolkit, quite a lot custom made (headset press, cup/cone bottom bracket pinch tool, 2 chain whips, pin plyers and a few more) I've fitted, adjusted and mended almost everything on a bike except wheels (I'm going to be building my first set for my MTB soon!)

I'm quite a budget person, but will always go for quality over price. That sounds a bit odd, but I like browsing ebay for cheap quality components and things. Most bike parts cost quite a lot in the UK anyway (compared to the US, which I guess most of you are from)

My Bikes:

Specialized Rockhopper Expert Disc 2009 in Silver
Not sure what specs you are supposed to quote to impress people... I've got a link to the specialized site here: https://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/...=39224&eid=107
Paid the equivalent of $385 for it and it's had new chain/chainrings and a complete service and wash

Giant Boulder 510 Sport
This is my pub/snotter bike. Had it for about 12 years, been through many many cables, chains, cassettes and tubes/tyres I've lost count. Still rides like the day I got it and it's fully working. This is what I've learnt to maintain bikes on!
I wonder if anyone reads this whole thing. Add the word brill to your post if you have, haha.

1978 Olympic Competitor