Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Derailer broke clean off, cable chopped, buying a new drivetrain.

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-11, 03:13 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Kitted ones were really expensive, and I need help figuring out if the parts I want to buy are compatible (I'm a college student with a bit of a price range) It's an '89 Cannondale 3.0 Aluminum series bike I believe... These are the parts I was going to grab:

-vintage shimano deore pedals and drive crank arm and chainrings 52, 45, 30

- Shimano STX 7 Speed Rear Derailer

- Shimano 7 Speed ST-EF60
3 x 7 Shifters / V-Brake Levers Set

-Shimano ST-EF60 Shifter Brake Lever EZ Fire 3X7sp 2

I'm gonna need a new front derailer too, I'm in the process of finding one

I'm trying to upgrade as inexpensively as possible from my tube shifters...
If this just looks completely out of whack I'm sorry I'm new to the bike world
Old 09-19-11, 05:39 AM
we be rollin'

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked 25 Times in 24 Posts
My own personal point of view on the 52/45/30 chainrings. In a hilly area like mine with a somewhat heavy bike, I would prefer a middle chainring that would be under 38 (like 34, whatever). And 30 for the smallest chainring is still a little big. Maybe 26 or 24.

I read rear derailleurs don't have speeds so it should be compatible with your shifters. I prefer shifter and brake levers seperately so I can adjust them at different angles.

Do you have a cassette for freewheel?
Old 09-19-11, 06:27 AM

Bikes: Cannondale, Trek, Raleigh, Santana

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts