Search
Notices
Advocacy & Safety Cyclists should expect and demand safe accommodation on every public road, just as do all other users. Discuss your bicycle advocacy and safety concerns here.

Tireflys

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-04, 01:24 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tireflys

Hi,

I have just joined this forum and I am looking for some opinions regarding the use of "Tireflys" lights, those that you screw into the valve in the tyre. I am trying to make my bicycle visible at night, for the commute home from work, and I thought these would help making me more visible. However I am not sure if they are legal, as they state on the pack that they are suitable for off-road use only, although they also advertise them as great for night visibility. I am thus confused, and not sure if I should install them or not in my wheels. Also, I am new to the USA (Corvallis, Oregon) and I am not sure what is appropriate here.

Best Regards to all,
Xana
Old 12-20-04, 02:45 PM
No, GIR, that’s bad.

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Never heard of them, but it's a cute idea. It sounds like more of a gimmicky item than a safety item.

I wouldn't expect cars to focus on them. You're much better off lighting up with a bright front light and a nice sharp red LED on the back.
Old 12-20-04, 02:54 PM
Lord of the Manor

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Xana