Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Quick-release seat lock?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Quick-release seat lock?

Old 05-12-12, 10:36 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quick-release seat lock?

Hi,
I'm completely new to bicycling in the city, and I moved to Brooklyn a year ago. Here, bike theft is almost as popular as bicycling. I have a dirt bike. (A Giant, Women's Sedona, if that matters) and have just bought a U-Lock. However, the seat on the Giant Women's Sedona bicycle is a quick-release, and I really don't want it to get stolen.

The few bike seat locks I have found, I'm not sure if they'll work-- specifically this or this, although the second is a bit pricier. But I want to be able to leave my bike for hours unattended without worrying about the seat being stolen.

So if anyone has any ideas, that would be great! I'd be happy to provide more information if needed.

Thanks muchly in advance.
Old 05-13-12, 12:26 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
you can replace the quick release bolt with a traditional one. your LBS will have them in stock. to go one step further you can get one like this https://www.brycefastener.com/megabolts.html

actually if your concerned about people stealing components off your frame you can replace your stem bolts with security bolts as well
Old 05-13-12, 07:09 AM
Membership Not Required

Bikes: Giant Excursion, Raleigh Sports, Raleigh R.S.W. Compact, Motobecane? and about 20 more! OMG

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked 15 Times in 14 Posts