Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

New Fixed Gear . . . Need Some Real Opinions

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-12, 02:23 PM
ak.

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello,

I am completely new to the entire fixed gear community. I have been lurking this site for some time now . . . scanning the many pages of Motobecane Track and Kilo TT threads. I currently live in the East Bay (Berkeley) of NorCal and I am looking to get a solid commuter bike to get to class on, have fun riding around on the weekends, go to the grocery store, etc. I want something that will be durable and last a long time, but will also be fun to ride semi-long distances on around town. So, among all the research I have done, I decided that I want wither the Motobecane Track, SE Draft Lite, or Mercier Kilo TT. I don't have all the money in the world so I wanted to get the best bike I could for about $400 or below.

Here were my potential setups:

Motobecane Track:
Origin-8 Bullhorns
Tiagra Front Brake
Avid Brake Lever
SRAM Tape
COST: $350

SE Draft Lite:
Sunlite of Fyxation Bullhorns
SRAM Tape
COST: $365-$375 including a freewheel and kryptonite u-lock

Mercier Kilo TT:
Sunlite of Fyxation Bullhorns
SRAM Tape
COST: $400-$410