Search
Notices
Track Cycling: Velodrome Racing and Training Area Looking to enter into the realm of track racing? Want to share your experiences and tactics for riding on a velodrome? The Track Cycling forums is for you! Come in and discuss training/racing, equipment, and current track cycling events.

Winter track

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-12, 05:52 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Winter track

I'm starting to think about spending a couple weeks in the south this winter (I live in Vermont) near a velodrome to get in as much track time as possible. I'm a 62 year old newbie, cat 4, with a nice bike (and new carbon wheels, thanks all for the advice). Not fast but can hold my own in my age group. Suggestions for a friendly track in a city where it wouldn't be too hard to find a cheap place to stay?
Old 09-20-12, 07:05 AM
aka mattio

Bikes: yes

Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked 58 Times in 35 Posts
I heard the Giordana Velodrome just added a fall/winter race series.
Old 09-20-12, 07:40 AM

Bikes: yes!

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just checked the website. There should be something coming soon...
Old 09-20-12, 08:34 AM

Bikes: too many of all kinds

Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Quoted: 1147 Post(s)
Liked 415 Times in 335 Posts
If you don't mind a short trip west, the London Ontario track season should be starting soon. Its one of the few indoor tracks (shoehorned into an old hockey stadium.
Old 09-20-12, 08:59 AM

Bikes: Marin Stelvio, Pogliaghi SL, Panasonic NJS, Dolan DF4, Intense Pro24 BMX

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked 87 Times in 58 Posts
LA seems an obvious choice, but I hear the track in FL is a nice one, too.
Old 09-20-12, 09:23 AM
Elitist

Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Quoted: 1386 Post(s)
Liked 92 Times in 77 Posts