Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Question about Raleigh bike

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-12, 04:25 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello everyone,

I've just recently acquired a Raleigh Elkhorn Mountain Tour on craigslist for $10. I know nothing about it, other than that it is going to need some work. I'm a newbie when it comes to bikes, so any help and information will be greatly appreciated

Attached Images
File Type: jpg
IMG_3803.jpg (91.1 KB, 67 views)
IMG_4556.jpg (66.5 KB, 14 views)
IMG_5483.jpg (97.2 KB, 65 views)
IMG_7431.jpg (99.8 KB, 66 views)
IMG_7812.jpg (93.6 KB, 16 views)
IMG_9674.jpg (98.8 KB, 11 views)
Old 09-23-12, 04:39 PM
Bianchi Goddess

Bikes: Too many to list here check my signature.

Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2930 Post(s)
Liked 2,923 Times in 1,491 Posts
Hello bfrijas Welcome to the forums. Not a bad score for $10 but I agree it needs some work. First things first, you need to put some lube on the chain. What do you have around the house? 3 in 1? Automatic transmission fluid? Does the seatpost move or is it seized in the frame? If the seatpost will move then take the bike to a shop and get a new binder for the seatlug.

Are you going to do the work? A tuneup at a shop with new cables and chain may run about $70 or so.

Sugar "Kane" Kowalczyk
Old 09-23-12, 04:49 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi, thanks for responding. I don't have any lube around, assuming WD-40 isn't usable. The seatpost moves around, and the shifter doesn't work as well. Would it be bad if the seatpost were seized in the frame? I'll probably end up taking it to a shop to get it tuned up.