Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Recreational & Family
Reload this Page >

Need a bike for my wife

Notices
Recreational & Family Ride just to ride? Have a family and want to get them into cycling? Drop in here to discuss recreational and family cycling issues.

Need a bike for my wife

Old 10-21-12, 04:55 AM
Just Rockin'

Bikes: Trek 7000 xtracycle

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Need a bike for my wife

My wife is now committed to joining myself and our toddlers on our weekly Saturday morning ride across town to the park.

Here is what I am looking for:

1. simple. Something like a single speed or 3 speed.
2. Good for her short size (5'3")
3. Cheap- ideally used (I am a high school teacher and on a tight budget.)

Any suggestions welcome.

I was thinking a something like a used Trek Lime?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
trek_lime.jpg (34.3 KB, 5 views)
Old 10-22-12, 09:06 PM

Bikes: Gary Fisher, Monona,trek 7000 (wife's )

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Me and the wife got into biking this past summer along with our toddlers which I pull with a Charoit trailer. She got a Trek 7000 which she is happy with. She rarely takes it out of the middle clog on the front,so she problerly been ok with a three speed or single speed. We ride quiet roads around the city and paved cycle paths.

I am sure you be able to find a decent bike off Craigslist or e-bay,that's where I found my trailer.

Good luck and happy riding.

Last edited by Box worthy; 10-24-12 at 09:21 PM.
Old 10-23-12, 01:35 PM
The Recumbent Quant

Bikes: 2012 Cruzbike Sofrider, 2013 Cruzigami Mantis, 2016 Folding CruziTandem

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Hi,

If you are handy with a wrench, check out BikeDirect.com (you can get a reasonable bike shipped to you for $250).