Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Heart rate, too much?

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Heart rate, too much?

Old 11-06-12, 04:20 PM

Bikes: Tarmac/LangsterPro/Epic

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Heart rate, too much?

I had a free hour in school today (yes, I'm a student). I decided to go in the gym because my training was called of yesterday by the club. I went on the stationary bike (which I know, doesn't simulate an actual bike that well) at 100RPM with a moderate resistance for 20 mins, and then 20 minutes on the treadmill at 13Km/h with a slight incline. 20 minutes (the end of my bike 'session') my heart rate was hovering between 193 and 197bpm with a heart rate monitor equipment that I trust. I've always been taught in GCSE PE/BTEC Sport that 60-80% is the max range that you should be training in, this for me was 95% for me. (220-15=205 max heart rate, 195/205*100 = around 95%). Is this a bad thing? I didn't feel out of my comfort zone massively, I would of judged myself at being in 75% range mentally. I had previously done some weights, but that was for a lesson and wasn't challenging weights (if this affects things). The transition between treadmill and bike were less than 30sec, I didn't want to rest, I just didn't fancy staring and the poster about gym safety for 40 minutes.
Old 11-06-12, 04:27 PM

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Quoted: 1186 Post(s)
Liked 289 Times in 177 Posts
Originally Posted by Lew.